City Classifications in Jefferson County KY

Read this local Louisville blog about how Jefferson County became Louisville KY. After the merger Louisville was filled with tons of cities, all with their own classifications. See why your city taxes are different from your friends.

Jefferson County Kentucky’s City Classification

Ever wonder why your friend in Spring Valley pays less city taxes than your friend in the Highlands? In 2013, the city of Louisville and Jefferson County merged into one large city. Before the merger Jefferson County was speckled with dozens of small cities. Some so small that they did not have a police force or public works. One thing that didn't change when the Metro Merger took place, was to whom the citizens paid taxes too. The cities classified as Second through Sixth Class continued to pay taxes to their city government. Citizens who live within the original Louisville city limits still pay Louisville city taxes. Wondering if you're in a city within a city? Read more below. 

Kentucky’s cities are classified into six types of cities. Classification is mainly based on population size, although other factors may be considered. Louisville is considered a 1st class city with a population of over 100,000- even before the 2003 merger of Louisville and Jefferson County. The merger did preserve the cities it incorporated into Louisville as semi-autonomous entities which have very distinct jurisdiction as second to sixth class cities. As of 2013 statutory classifications of cities in Kentucky and their corresponding population references are as follows:

First Class- 100,000 or more; Second Class- 20,000-99,999; Third Class – 8,000 to 19,999; Fourth Class – 3,000 to 7,999; Fifth Class – 1,000 to 2,999; and Sixth Class – less than 1,000.



Population Requirements


100,000 or more


20,000 to 99,999


8,000  to 19,999


3,000  to 7,999


1,000  to 2,999


Less than 1,000


Current examples of Louisville Second Class Cities: Jeffersontown

Current examples of Louisville Third Class Cities: Prospect, Shively

Current examples of Louisville Fourth Class Cities: St. Matthews, St. Regis Park, Douglass Hills, Graymoor-Devondale, Hurstbourne, Indian Hills, Lyndon, Middletown

Current examples of Louisville Fifth Class Cities: Audubon Park, Barbourmeade, Beechwood Village, Heritage Creek, Hurstbourne Acres, Lynnview, Meadow Vale, Northfield, Plantation, Rolling Hills, Watterson Park, West Buechel, Windy Hills, Woodlawn Park, Northfield

Current examples of Louisville Sixth Class Cities: Bancroft, Bellemeade, Bellewood, Blue Ridge Manor, Briarwood, Broeck Pointe, Brownsboro Farm, Brownsboro Village, Cambridge, Coldstream, Creekside, Crossgate, Druid Hills, Fincastle, Forest Hills, Glenview, Glenview Hills, Glenview Manor, Goose Creek, Green Spring, Hickory Hill, Hills And Dales, Hollow Creek, Houston Acres, Kingsley, Langdon Place, Lincolnshire, Manor Creek, Maryhill Estates, Meadowbrook Farm, Meadowview Estates, Mockingbird Valley, Moorland, Murray Hill, Norbourne Estates, Norwood, Old Brownsboro Place, Parkway Village, Poplar Hills, Richlawn, Riverwood, Rolling Fields, Seneca Gardens, Spring Mill, Spring Valley, Strathmoor Manor, Sycamore, Ten Broeck, Thornhill,  Wellington, Westwood, Wildwood, Woodland Hills, Worthington Hills.


Post a Comment